October 2, 2023

Flyers release 41-man training camp roster

Photo by nhl.com

The NHL season is right around the corner and the Philadelphia Flyers have released their full training camp roster. 

Ahead of this 2020-21 season, the Flyers will hold an unaccustomed camp under much more of time crunch compared to years past. This year’s camp will consist of six on-ice days and a lot of scrimmaging because of no preseason games. Training camp officially begins Jan. 3 with physical examinations before the club practices Jan. 4 to commence the on-ice days at Virtua Center Flyers Skate Zone in Voorhees, New Jersey, and the Wells Fargo Center. 

The Flyers will split into two groups for practices Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday, all starting at 11 AM EST and followed by scrimmages. Thursday will be an off-ice day. One group will skate Saturday from 11 AM to noon ET, with the other group going at 11:30 AM to 12:30 PM EST. 

The team will head to the Wells Fargo Center ice on Sunday to finish camp. One group will practice at 10:30 AM EST and the second group at 11:30 AM EST, giving way to an intrasquad scrimmage at 7 PM EST.

The Flyers will kick off the regular season at home on Jan. 13 against the Pittsburgh Penguins. 

The Flyers will get their roster down to 23 players, accompanied by a taxi squad of four to six players. They have 41 players on their camp roster.

Some quick notes:

• Joel Farabee changed his jersey number from No. 49 to No. 86.

• Isaac Ratcliffe suffered a fractured rib while training and will be out a minimum of four weeks.

• For now, David Kase, Linus Hogberg, German Rubtsov and Maksim Sushko will stay on loan overseas.

• As we learned Thursday, Kirill Ustimenko is out four to five months (hip surgery).

Here is the 2021 training camp roster:

Forwards (22)

Wade Allison, No. 57

Andy Andreoff, No. 10

Nicolas Aube-Kubel, No. 62    

Connor Bunnaman, No. 82     

Sean Couturier, No. 14

Joel Farabee, No. 86

Tyson Foerster, No. 52

Morgan Frost, No. 48

Claude Giroux, No. 28

Kevin Hayes, No. 13

Travis Konecny, No. 11

Tanner Laczynski, No. 58

Scott Laughton, No. 21

Oskar Lindblom, No. 23

Samuel Morin, No. 55

Nolan Patrick, No. 19

Michael Raffl, No. 12

Linus Sandin, No. 36

Carsen Twarynski, No. 81

James van Riemsdyk, No. 25  

Jakub Voracek, No. 93   

Zayde Wisdom, No. 71

Defensemen (14)

Chris Bigras, No. 3

Justin Braun, No. 61

Mark Friedman, No. 59    

Shayne Gostisbehere, No. 53

Erik Gustafsson, No. 56

Robert Hagg, No. 8

Philippe Myers, No. 5

Derrick Pouliot, No. 51

Nate Prosser, No. 39

Ivan Provorov, No. 9

Travis Sanheim, No. 6

Tyler Wotherspoon, No. 26

Wyatte Wylie, No. 65

Egor Zamula, No. 54

Goalies (5)

Brian Elliott, No. 37

Carter Hart, No. 79

Alex Lyon, No. 34

Roddy Ross, No. 69

Felix Sandstrom, No. 32

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: